Archive for September, 2012

h1

2012 Autumn Text Workshop

September 10, 2012

Thrilled to announce the third season of my online creative writing workshop, running from late September to early December 2012.

The Text Workshop is designed for people in-progress on project or manuscript development and will be tailored to respond to concerns and interests of participants. We will spend time entering the worlds of each project that participants are constructing. We will consider how to shape a project, appropriate one’s own material, rework texts, and develop performance. Additional topics we will cover include project descriptions, publishing and materials, and why we do what we do.

LANGUAGE: Workshop discussions will occur in English. If you’re working with other or multiple languages in your project, you’re welcome to join (with the caveat that feedback may not deal directly with the language of your project if unfamiliar to participants, but instead more with the conceptual framework, performance, structure/format, or sound of your project).

PROJECT FORMAT: The workshop is open to projects being developed in conventional textual forms (chapbook, book, etc.) as well as other performance, visual, sonic, inter- or multidisciplinary forms. Participants will be at different stages of development, so you are welcome to join with a new project or further along in its creation.

WHEN: The workshop sessions will occur every other Sunday from late September to December. Workshop dates are: September 30, October 14, October 28, November 11, November 25, and December 9. Workshop sessions will be two hours in length. Since we’ll have people joining from different areas in the world, I propose this schedule:

  •  San Francisco: 9am to 11am
  • Calgary: 10am to noon
  • Toronto: noon to 2pm
  • Reykjavík: 4pm to 6pm
  • London: 5pm to 7pm
  • Paris: 6pm to 8pm
  • Brisbane: 2am to 4am (technically Monday morning, not Sunday)

NOTE: The Australia time is admittedly punishing. If I receive enough interest from people in Australia-area time zones, I’ll open a second workshop to accommodate more appropriate hours. Alternatively, if I receive interest from Australia but not folks in either West-Coast USA or European time zones, I’ll consider shifting these times to accommodate everyone involved.

Workshop participants will also have the option to consult with me one-on-one at some point during these months.

WHO: The workshops will be very limited in number of participants (5 to 8 in total). All folks who register need to commit to the full workshop period.

WHERE: The workshops will take place in real-time audio/video conversation using Google+’s “hangout” widget, which allows up to ten people to chat using voice and video (for those with video capability). Participants in the workshops will need to use a computer that has dedicated internet access as well as audio capability; video is preferred but is not necessary for participation. We may also use Google Docs for exercises that require real-time collaboration or editing. We will also use DropBox to share in-progress work, documents, audio files, videos, images, or other material we share with the class. All workshop material will be kept confidential, though we may record (with permission of participants) some of the workshops for archival purposes.

COST: CDN$250. If you would like to propose some kind of alternative (reduced cost + trade, exchange, etc.), pitch it to me.

REGISTRATION: To register, please send me an e-mail letting me know you’d like to participate.

TECH ASSISTANCE: If you need any assistance setting up your Google+ account or using Google Docs, DropBox, PayPal, or e-mail money transfers, please send me a note.

QUESTIONS AND FEEDBACK: I invite any and all questions or feedback you have about the process at any point. The more I hear from you, the better we will be able to adapt these workshops to suit your interests, needs, urges, dreams.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers